Pensacola, FL Police Department

The History of the Department and Patch

Pensacola has a long and interesting history after being settled in 1559 by Don Tristan de Luna y Arelano of Spain.  Two years later, a hurricane hit the area and destroyed the settlement.  This would ultimately lead to another Florida city-St. Augustine, settled in 1565 – being named the first permanent settlement in the New World.

Pensacola has had the flags of Spain, France, England, Confederate States of America and the United States of America fly over the city – giving it the nickname the City of Five Flags.  These five flags are displayed on the patch, which is worn by officers on their uniforms.

The Pensacola Police Department was created in 1821 and is now housed in it fourth headquarters.  The department has about 60 sworn officers, all of whom have earned Florida Police Standards Certification and passed various teats.  The department has three major divisions:  Uniform Patrol, Criminal Investigations, and Neighborhood and Services.  All officers begin their career in Uniform Patrol where they answer citizen calls and complaints.

The Uniform Patrol Division includes Patrol and Traffic; Criminal Investigations includes Investigations and Crime Scene; and Neighborhood and Services includes Records, Dispatch, Personnel/Training, Property Management, COPS, and school resource officers.

The History of the Pensacola Police Department Motorcycle Unit

2013 Emerald Coast Motorcycle Rodeo
2013 Emerald Coast Motorcycle Rodeo
2014 Harley-Davidson Police Electra Glide

Information and Photos provided by the Pensacola, FL Police Department.