Police Motor Units
The History of Motorcycle Law Enforcement

 "Virtual Museum"


La Crosse, WI Police Department

The History of the La Crosse, WI Police Department Motorcycle Unit

1923 Officers John Tikal, Perry Brown, George Rothhaupt, and Fred Hase


Late 1920's  Motor Officers, John Fitzpatrick, Roy Franklin, John Tikal, and Elmer Schnick

May 30, 1938 Officer Roy Sampson

1950's Motorcycle Squad(Left to Right) Motor Officer Ed Miller, Chief Lyle Gilbert, RaySibler, Harold Kostecki, Chief Herman Rick and Rodger Schmuck


In the Mid-1950's Motor Officer John Halverson Photo by Teresa Kistler Henrickson

1957 Motor Officer Ray Sibler at Riverside Park

1967 Training at the Entrance of Riverside Park

The Late 1990's

2002 Ryan Fitzpatrick, Lt. Andy Truscott, Gary Clement and Grant Cyllander

2008 Gary Clements and Investigator Evan Stone

Information and Photos provided by La Crosse, WI Police Department